Daily Archives: 2 May 2015

Humanae Vitae 17a: Consequences of Artificial Methods

Humanae Vitae is online at the Vatican site, and the text highlighted below is © Copyright – Libreria Editrice Vaticana. Pope Paul outlines some worries in this section. We’ll split up concerns about possible consequences of artificial contraception into two … Continue reading

Posted in Humanae Vitae | 3 Comments

Misericordiae Vultus 15a: Healing Wounds

Section 15 is important, and also long, so we’ll break it up and examine it over the next three days. First a reminder about a place to which we can make a pilgrimage of mercy: 15. In this Holy Year, … Continue reading

Posted in Misericordiae Vultus | Leave a comment

Spiritual Direction

Once a month I drive to a retreat house in a nearby city to meet with my spiritual director. I commented yesterday that all the fog seems to clear away when I’m with someone who listens and sees with the ears … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | Tagged | Leave a comment

DPPL 287: Conducting a Pilgrimage

Let’s wrap up our long discussion of shrines and pilgrimages. I will relay a family experience. My mother never switched to Catholicism when my siblings and I were baptized. But that didn’t prevent her from organizing pilgrimages for the parish, … Continue reading

Posted in Directory on Popular Piety and the Liturgy, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment