No Home Dads, Please

Not sure what the genesis might be for the opposition to the stay-at-home dad. But a seminary prof went mano a mano with such a father over it. Owen Strachan on men’s work:

It’s going to be hard. It’s going to be long. It may bring injury to your body, but it means that’s part of – ironically here, because we’re talking about a curse – that that’s ironically what is going to bring God glory.

As a person in ministry, I’ll readily concede that my vocation and job is not ordinarily physical work that matches the curse of the Fall. This past Sunday I did more physical work hauling things to and from temporary worship, and moving around a lot more behind the scenes at liturgy. I was quite tired by the end of my day. But the exertion is minimal compared to the manual work I did working my way through college: outdoor yard work, plus a few summers working for a catering company.

Blogger and stay-at-home father Matt Peregoy:

I think we struggle with identity as at-home dads when we tie our identity to only being a financial provider.  If I claim to be a follower of Christ, I am called to shed that identity and find my identity in Him.

Seems about right to me.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in Minnesota, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Home Dads, Please

  1. crystal says:

    I guess this is part of the complementarianism the conservatives seem so wedded to. Mr. Mom – one of my favorite movies :)

  2. Jen says:

    So what he’s basically saying is that Christ didn’t die for a woman’s sins, in that she has to keep suffering for the Fall? That’s some crap theology.

Leave a comment