Daily Archives: 1 May 2014

Confirmation Names

An interesting discussion unfolds this week at PrayTell on the practice of taking a confirmation name. For the purpose of full disclosure, I admit I have such a name. I also admit that I didn’t discourage the young miss when … Continue reading

Posted in My Family, Rite of Confirmation, Saints, spirituality | 2 Comments

Dies Domini 40: Assessing The Word

The second of three sections on the Word at Sunday liturgy. Pope John Paul asks how well we were preaching it fifteen years ago. We can ask the same today: 40. In considering the Sunday Eucharist more than thirty years … Continue reading

Posted in Dies Domini, post-conciliar liturgy documents | 1 Comment

EG 155: The Purpose of the Homily

I found this small section to be especially powerful and thought-provoking. Contained here is a four-point intent for the liturgical homily. From what I read of his daily Mass homilies, he practices what he preaches about preaching. Pope Francis in … Continue reading

Posted in Evangelii Gaudium, evangelization | Tagged | Leave a comment

Finding The Place

With The Price Is Right providing the soundtrack to my morning today’s Scripture for my Ignatian retreat was Matthew 26:20-30. (Okay, it was two weeks ago, but so what?) Enter God’s graceful sense of humor about my annual post-Triduum ritual of … Continue reading

Posted in Lectio Divina, My Family, Scripture, spirituality | Tagged | Leave a comment