Daily Archives: 14 March 2007

Ad Gentes 2

Getting into the meat of Ad Gentes, we hit CHAPTER I, “PRINCIPLES OF DOCTRINE.” The first principle is that the missionary quality is the core of the outreach of the Trinity to humankind: The pilgrim Church is missionary by her … Continue reading

Posted in Ad Gentes | Leave a comment

Can the Christian be a Pessimist?

(This is Neil.) Of course, I can’t really answer such a question in a short blog post. I certainly don’t want to dismiss the very real possibility of clinical depression or other concerns. But I do think that the answer … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | 2 Comments

How To Communicate the Sacrificial Character of the Mass

Neil’s question sets us on the path we could be exploring to attempt a response. My friends know that I have serious doubts about the “hermeneutic of subtraction,” or the sense that we can trim away pieces of our Catholicism … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | 3 Comments