Daily Archives: 24 January 2012

Don’t Phone, Please

I don’t think telemarketers quite get it. My daughter has been getting bugged by calls from an 800-number. She asked me today if I could get them to stop. For me, that’s an easy solution. And for many, maybe most … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, My Family | 8 Comments

Pro-Life Thoughts

As the years roll on, I find myself losing patience with the political pro-life movement. The internet makes is difficult to be sympathetic to many of my sister and brothers in the pro-life effort. Aside from agreement on abortion, we … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, Politics | 4 Comments

Thomas Aquinas Novena, Day Five: Preacher

Opening Prayer Glory Be … Scripture If I proclaim the gospel, this gives me no ground for boasting, for an obligation is laid on me, and woe betide me if I do not proclaim the gospel! For if I do … Continue reading

Posted in Parish Life, Saints, Scripture, spirituality | Leave a comment

GIRM 178-183: The Deacon at the Liturgy of the Eucharist

In these six sections, we have a number of important duties. 178. After the Universal Prayer, while the Priest remains at the chair, the Deacon prepares the altar, assisted by the acolyte, but it is the Deacon’s place to take … Continue reading

Posted in GIRM, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

GDC 119: On Catechisms

GDC’s Part Two, Chapter II (numbered sections 119-136), treats the issues of catechisms. The Catechism of the Catholic Church predates this document by several years, but you may find the next several posts illustrative as we will explore some of … Continue reading

Posted in General Directory for Catechesis, post-conciliar catechetical documents | Leave a comment