Daily Archives: 27 November 2012

Political Thinking on Abortion

Is it time to end the political pro-life movement? One blogger forwards the idea. Or given that the abortion rate has been in a slight tailspin for a decade, helped apparently by the current presidency, maybe it’s time to shift … Continue reading

Posted in Adoption, Politics | Leave a comment

Are Bibles For Writing In?

Even when I was in college, I demurred highlighting my textbooks. My friends were well-equipped, it seemed, with fluorescent pens of all colors. And every used volume in the bookstore seemed filled with someone else’s study priorities. One of my … Continue reading

Posted in Lectio Divina, spirituality | 3 Comments

Built of Living Stones 187-189: The Parish Self-Study

Preface § 187 § By their design and construction, church buildings serve the rites of the Church and the devotion of the people, fostering their encounter with God who dwells in all holiness,(SC 122) and reflecting the faith of the … Continue reading

Posted in Built of Living Stones, USCCB documents | Leave a comment

WoC, 2012 Edition

The self-styled War on Christmas is heating up, I see. Santa Monica was swamped with atheist displays last year. So the city government appears to have pulled the plug on anything. Fair’s fair for public property, I suppose. As long … Continue reading

Posted in Church News | Leave a comment