Daily Archives: 29 January 2009

Trinity, I Think Not

A curious quote from the usually competent Elizabeth Lev of Zenit: An increasing number of people believe Galileo to be the father, Darwin (whose Origin of the Species is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year) the son, and Albert Einstein … Continue reading

Posted in Science | 2 Comments

Cooperative Extremes, Moderates, and Non-Extremes

A few days ago at dotCommonweal, Cathleen Caveny upfronted a good comment from Chris Currie and gave it it’s own thread. I had composed a reply there the other night, but lost it. So I figured I could say half … Continue reading

Posted in Politics | 22 Comments

Jazz Thursday: “Journey Home” with the MSO

It’s an early post, in part because this artist deserves to have her music in the full light of day. I enjoyed Maria Schneider’s compositions at the Eastman School of Music in the 80’s. Her ability to get wonderful color … Continue reading

Posted in Music | Leave a comment