Daily Archives: 1 May 2012

Bitter Disappointment

An interesting and all-too-brief feature on RNS on the Clergy Project, moving doubters in the ranks of ministry to being outed in the ranks of atheists. I’ve known a number of people who have left church ministry. Many found their … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Commentary, Ministry | Leave a comment

New Staff Colleagues

It’s always sad to see good colleagues move on. I’ve worked with our fine faith formation director and our outstanding campus minister for my four years here. But these great women–two of the most talented ministers I’ve ever been privileged … Continue reading

Posted in Parish Life | 1 Comment

Raising and Rising

As a liturgist, I’m used to Psalm 91 as a Lenten offering. “Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble,” and all that. And textually, I know it is one of Saint Augustine’s seven penitential psalms. Mea culpa, mea … Continue reading

Posted in 2012 Dance, Liturgical Music | Leave a comment

RDCA I, 9-14: Form One, Procession to the Construction Site

At the end of yesterday’s post, I offered an outline of the Rite for Laying of a Foundation Stone, mentioning the two options provided in RCDA I, 9. In today’s post, we will review the first option: Approach to the … Continue reading

Posted in Rite of Dedication of a Church and an Altar, Rites | 1 Comment

GDC 243: “Various criteria which can inspire the use of human sciences in the formation of catechists”

243. These are: a) Respect for the autonomy of the sciences: “the Church… affirms the legitimate autonomy of culture and especially of the sciences”. (Gaudium et Spes 59) b) Evangelical discernment of the different tendencies or schools in psychology, sociology, … Continue reading

Posted in General Directory for Catechesis, post-conciliar catechetical documents | Leave a comment