Daily Archives: 1 February 2012

Will The Clergy Come Clean on Conscience Provisions?

At our weekly staff meeting, we discussed the HHS directive, our archbishop’s letter in response to it, and the ramifications for us employees. Some questions came to me afterward as I reflected. I appreciate that bishops and clergy, as our … Continue reading

Posted in Politics | 4 Comments

GDC 127-128: “Sacred Scripture, the Catechism of the Catholic Church, and Catechesis”

Where the Bible, the Catechism, and Catechesis intersect: 127. The Constitution Dei Verbum of the Second Vatican Council emphasizes the fundamental importance of Sacred Scripture in the Church’s life. Together with tradition, it is the “supreme rule of faith”, since … Continue reading

Posted in General Directory for Catechesis, post-conciliar catechetical documents | Leave a comment

GIRM 205-209: Preparations for Concelebration

Let’s get ready for an extra priest, Or more. 205. A concelebrated Mass, whatever its form, is arranged in accordance with the norms commonly in force (cf. nos. 112-198), observing or adapting however what is set out below. Don’t be … Continue reading

Posted in GIRM, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

On My Bookshelf: The Roof at the Bottom of the World

My wife thought I was crazy bringing this book to bed on a cold winter’s night. But tucked in under the covers, I enjoyed last week’s read from Arizona State’s professor of exploration (that title is so cool) Edmund Stump. … Continue reading

Posted in On My Bookshelf, Other Places | Leave a comment