Daily Archives: 24 March 2014

Dies Domini 2: Resurrection

Why Sunday? It’s obvious: the Resurrection. The only event that might be more astonishing is that God chose to come in human form, and walk among us, as one of us. But no doubt, the Resurrection has eternal implications for … Continue reading

Posted in Dies Domini, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

Readying The Girl Cave

Day off today, so the basement got tackled. The young miss wants a somewhat larger bedroom. My wife was less enthusiastic about this in 2008 when we moved in. The basement was a better place to house the rabbits away … Continue reading

Posted in My Family | Leave a comment

English Bishops Push On Blogging

Bishops in the UK seem to have the internet in their sights these days. The bishop who muzzled a deacon is still getting bad press on some Catholics sites. (Like here.) The Bishop of Portsmouth, Philip Egan, directed this letter … Continue reading

Posted in bishops, The Blogosphere | Leave a comment

On My Bookshelf: V-S Day

When I was a kid, I didn’t think the space program was going fast enough, so I invented my own. Crewed missions, observatories, planetary exploration–most everything I thought was missing. Because of all that, I feel quite sympathetic to an … Continue reading

Posted in On My Bookshelf, science fiction | Tagged , | 1 Comment

EG 121: Called To Maturity

Pope Francis suggests evangelization is always a work in progress. What do you suppose he means by that? 121. Of course, all of us are called to mature in our work as evangelizers. We want to have better training, a … Continue reading

Posted in Evangelii Gaudium, evangelization | Tagged | Leave a comment