Daily Archives: 31 May 2011

Another Experience of Loss

Something different than last week’s experience: I’ve begun my summer project of losing fifty pounds. By the time the students return for Fall semester, my plan is to be back at my college weight. I’ve shared with a number of … Continue reading

Posted in Food | 3 Comments

Which English Translation?

A friend in Central America asked me about the best economic deal for a Honduran priest leanring English and presiding at Mass for a group of Indian Missionaries of Charity. But I was thinking the guy will have to get … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | 1 Comment

Psalm 36

I thought I would share the music for the psalm setting I composed last week. My friends Dave and Cathy Moklebust did a super arrangement for organ and handbells. At the funeral I added hammer dulcimer. Note: the link to the … Continue reading

Posted in Todd's music | 5 Comments

South African on Abuse and Scandal

I began following The Southern Cross, the media organ of the Catholic Church in South Africa when they began implementing MR3 a few years ago. I return to that site regularly for sensible commentary. This week, editor Günther Simmermacher offers … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Ministry | 1 Comment

Varietates Legitimae 31-32: The Responsibility of The Episcopal Conference

National conferences of bishops have particular responsibilities, as we read in these two sections: 31. Since it is a question of local culture, it is understandable that the constitution Sacrosanctum Concilium assigned special responsibility in this matter to the “various … Continue reading

Posted in post-conciliar liturgy documents, Varietates Legitimae | Leave a comment