Daily Archives: 3 February 2015

Contracting

Jimmy Mac’s diocese is proposing new additions for teacher contracts in 2015-16. I find these attempts interesting, especially as the bungling of clergy sexual abuse has been the cause of much deeper disillusionment among churchfolk than what a teacher might … Continue reading

Posted in bishops, Commentary, Politics | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Yellowjackets

When I was working my way through grad school, I spent a few years as a part-time jazz and classical announcer in public radio. I enjoyed both genres, but it was a real expansion working in an environment where I was … Continue reading

Posted in Music | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Viewing SF

In watching one of my wife’s favorite programs, Lewis, I’ve come to appreciate the British system of long episodes in short seasons. Everything seems satisfying watching a mystery unfold, then get solved in ninety minutes. I suppose if the original … Continue reading

Posted in science fiction, television | Leave a comment

Cost of Bread

We haven’t had a poll in a long time. It’s budget time in my parish, and while the cost of altar bread isn’t a big concern, it is a line item on the spreadsheet. What do you think we spend … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | Leave a comment

Mutuae Relationes 23: Six Criteria For Pastoral Good Order

Let’s finish up Chapter III. This is a long post and I toyed with dividing it up over a whole week, and drawing in some other witnesses–saints and spiritual guides. I will leave it to the commentariat here to consider where … Continue reading

Posted in bishops, Mutuae Relationes, women religious | Leave a comment

DPPL 211: Why Saints?

Why saints? There are many reasons: personal holiness, discipleship, heavenly citizenship, intercessors, and patrons, to mention five. Let’s get into a bit more detail: 211. The doctrine of the Church and her Liturgy, propose the Saints and Beati who already … Continue reading

Posted in Directory on Popular Piety and the Liturgy, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment