New Fatima Church

image: BBC News

The world’s fourth largest Catholic worship space opened yesterday. The Church of the Holy Trinity will accommodate pilgrims to the Fatima shrine in Portugal. Up to 9,000 worshippers will fit in a building without interior columns, but with generous-looking aisle space. Total cost was in the tens of millions.

In my own city, they refer to this parish‘s abode as the “fish church.” Another parish in my home diocese is home to the “swiss cheese church.” Both due to the building appearance from the air.

I can imagine a few monikers will be offered for this building.

The old Fatima church will retain its honor of being cathedral and basilica, however.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in Minnesota, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Fatima Church

  1. Tony says:

    It it wasn’t for the big crucifix, I’d have thought I was looking at Carnegie Hall.

    Nice “worship space”.

  2. sacerdos says:

    Todd,

    What parish in our diocese looks like swiss chees from the air?

  3. Todd says:

    Sorry, Father; I meant my home diocese in Rochester. I tried to find the link but I wasn’t 100% sure it was St Januarius Church in Naples NY. As it was, I could find no photo and Google Earth didn’t give me a good enough resolution to be sure. They were the first parish in the diocese to inter cremated remains in crypts on the premises.

  4. Michael says:

    This is the ugliest church I have ever seen.

  5. Chris says:

    The same thing is happening now in my diocese (Worcester, MA). Churches are being closed, merged, buildings sold, and will build megachurches soon.

  6. Joe Frances says:

    The horror, the horror.

  7. Diego says:

    It looks like a high school auditorium from the inside and like a nintendo wii racquet from the air:)))

  8. rory says:

    sickening quite ugly and discusting

Leave a comment